7 comments on “When Silence Isn’t Golden, Music Is My Muse

  1. I also need music to write. I make my own soundtracks for music that matches the different moods and emotional planes and also the characters and setting. I couldn’t write without music!

  2. I usually have music playing when I write. Often it’s CDs or MP3s, so the music is familiar, but sometimes it’s the radio playing at least some songs I’ve never heard before. Mostly blues and folk, but my tastes are pretty eclectic. Music seems to tap into the creative part of my brain. It probably helps me feel the rhythms in what I’m writing. I can’t have spoken-word stuff going in the background, though. I can’t write in cafés and places where people are talking. I wind up listening in on their conversations.

  3. I vastly prefer music to silence while writing, although there are times when the music can be a distraction. I tend to have Last.fm on, as my library contains a lot of evocative writing tracks. I also have a ‘Writing’ playlist on Media Player which I’ll play on shuffle from time to time. Like you, what I choose to listen to is usually dictated by what I’m currently writing. Movie soundtracks can be perfect; I think it’s because they themselves are telling a story through music, and somehow they inspire storytelling imagery in a way other forms of music can’t.

  4. I know exactly what you mean. I almost always need music to write. I wear noise-cancelling headphones and listen to lyrical music. There’s usually a bunch of playlists I make of anything ranging from indie/folk to pop to EDM to R&B. I’ve read an interesting piece of advice in relation to writing advice from Plot Perfect: the tip was to listen to classical music to get an idea of the highs and lows within the music so that as a writer you can get a feel for the dramatic ups and downs in plot. I thought that was pretty cool 🙂

    • That is an excellent observation about listening to classical music. I think this is why I generally prefer instrumental music when writing; it can really help with developing the mood and tone of a scene.

Leave a Reply

