4 comments on “You Don’t Have To Hang Yourself With Tropes

  1. I agree that it’s not the trope itself, it’s how you use it. Like re-telling ancient myths or telling stories with the same familiar superheroes, it’s not the concept itself that bores, it’s the way it’s used. The problem is that, the more a trope has been used the less likely it is that what you do with it will be truly new and interesting to readers, and so careless use becomes frustrating for readers. But as Suzanne Collins showed with The Hunger Games, even the familiar love triangle can be interesting if combined with other interesting elements.

    • I agree completely about frustration being caused by the careless use of a trope. For me as a reader, the more I encounter poorly executed uses of a trope, the less willing I am to risk delving into novels that appear to contain them.

      I have avoided The Hunger Games books until now because I was concerned about the potential love triangle shenanigans. But I might give them a chance now, based on your recommendation.

  2. Pingback: What Is The One Trope I Love To Hate? | lonelyboy1977

  3. Pingback: The One Trope I Love To Hate | lonelyboy1977

Leave a Reply

